Swim 3 Lakes in 3 Days – End of August Update

As confirmed in my last update, I smashed this with my good friend Saul Betmead in late July. Successfully completing it felt incredible after so much training, planning and preparation, but it definitely wasn’t easy.

Rather than write extensively about it, we made a video documenting the challenge. In it Saul and I discuss each swim at the end of each of the three days, and intersperse the chat with some photos and footage of the swims. I have to admit, that I’ve watched it several times in the months that have followed as what was achieved still sinks in. When we reached the end of the last lake (Coniston), having swum 40 km in three days in the coldest water I’d ever swam in, I had never felt more #Unstoppable in my life.

I believe you should always celebrate your achievements. So in August I had a huge party and was delighted that many of my fellow swimmers from Red Top Swim were able to join for some Gatorade Prime shots. We also premiered the video to tremendous plaudits.

Red Top Swim Gatorade Prime Shots.jpg

As I won’t be discussing this goal in future updates now it’s complete, I’ll just add that since swimming the 3 lakes I’ve barely swam. I’ve gone from swimming 4 – 5 times a week to swimming once a week at best. I’m just about starting up again now, ramping up to 2 -3 times a week. I needed the rest both physically and mentally, but then I found I needed to get back in the water as I was missing the benefits of regular exercise. And it goes without saying that I’m already excited about what my next swimming adventure will be…

Leave a comment